Board of Directors

The World Diabetes Foundation is governed by an independent Board of Directors with expertise in the field of diabetes and access to health in developing countries. The Board convenes four times a year.

The first WDF Board was formed in 2002, comprising Chairman Prof. Sir George Alberti, Dr Ida Nicolaisen, Prof Ib Bygbjerg, Dr Anil Kapur and Mr Lars Rebien Sørensen.
Prof. Pierre Lefèbvre succeeded Sir Alberti, and served as the Chairman of the Foundation from 2003-2014. The current Chairman, Dr. Anil Kapur, was elected in March 2015.